The words of the story
New here? Every legal, land and records word on Cedwyn, in one line each. Each one links on, all the way to the record itself.
A
Adverse possession
Gaining title to land by occupying it openly, without the owner’s permission, for a period set by law: 12 years for unregistered land in England and Wales (Limitation Act 1980).
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales
The national museum that holds accession 63.24 (finds from “Church Farm”, 1858).
- Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales 1994–2026 · EV-0140
1994–2026: Collections records 63.24 and FOI 2026-036 replies (EV-0140) - National Museum of Wales
Name used in older references on the Wiki
B
BP companies
The BP pension companies named as registered owners after the 1982–83 first registrations, and parties to the 1974 and 1984–87 possession actions. Each name is a separate company.
- BP Pension Trust 1969 (per HMLR 2026)
1969 (per HMLR 2026): HM Land Registry letter, 19 Apr 2026: BP Pension Trust acquired in 1969 (statement, not deed) - B P Petroleum Pension Trust 16 Apr 1974 · GHF-E090-N03
16 Apr 1974: Daily Telegraph, 16 Apr 1974 (GHF-E090-N03) - BP Properties Ltd 31 Oct 1974 · EV-0080
31 Oct 1974: Plaintiff, BP Properties Ltd v Buckler [1987] EWCA Civ 2; licence letters 31 Oct 1974 (EV-0080) - BP pension fund 22 May 1980 · EV-0057
22 May 1980: Hansard, HC Deb 22 May 1980: “Western Ground Rents, bought by the BP pension fund” (EV-0057) - BP Trustees 31 Jul 1987 · EV-0080
31 Jul 1987: Court of Appeal 1987 recital, as read in the Wiki’s recital audit (EV-0080) - BP Properties Limited (00699446) current · EV-0251
current: Companies House register, still active (EV-0251)
BP Properties Ltd v Buckler (1987)
The 1987 Court of Appeal judgment ([1987] EWCA Civ 2) on possession of the farmhouse land at Llandough.
Bute estate
The Glamorgan landholdings of the Marquesses of Bute, sold off in the 1930s–1940s.
C
Conveyance
The deed that transfers ownership of land from one owner to another.
Court of Appeal
The second-highest court in England and Wales. It hears appeals from the High Court and county courts.
Cwm Cydfin woodland
The woods north of the farmhouse and the wider Leckwith and Llandough woods (Cwm Cydfin).
- Cwm Cydfin Wood (Leckwith and Llandough) 29 Nov 1902 · EV-0219
29 Nov 1902: Bute coppice-woods auction, Stephenson & Alexander records, Glamorgan Archives DSA/3/192 and DSA/12/1003 (EV-0219) - Leckwith Woods 1940–1942 · EV-0220
1940–1942: Cardiff Parks history page citing Cardiff committee minutes: c.109 acres given by Western Ground Rents, 1940–42 (EV-0220) - Cwm Cydfin SSSI 1972
1972: Site of Special Scientific Interest 0524, notified 1972 and 9 Dec 1985 (5.5 ha) - the woodland (title WA735527) 10 Nov 1994 · EV-0136
10 Nov 1994: Transfer of the woodland to Forest of Cardiff, with plan (EV-0136) - forest north of the house
The Wiki’s description of part of Parcel A - the woods / the forest
Common wording in the Wiki and correspondence
D
David Stewart survey (1824)
David Stewart’s 1824 survey of the Bute Glamorgan estates. Its plan 19 names “Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm”, the first record mention of Tŷ Mawr.
DCMS
Department for Culture, Media and Sport: the UK department for heritage and listed buildings policy in England.
Dŵr Cymru / Welsh Water
The water company; relevant to the water cut off at the farm.
- Dŵr Cymru 2026
2026: Correspondence 2026 - Welsh Water 2026
2026: Same company, English name
E
EIR (Environmental Information Regulations)
The Environmental Information Regulations 2004: the FOI route for information about land, the environment and planning.
Evidence ID (EV- / GHF-E)
The catalogue number each record has on Cedwyn, such as EV-0080 or GHF-E090. Every fact on the site points to one.
F
First registration
Registering a piece of land with HM Land Registry for the first time, usually after a sale or transfer. The deeds before it are not copied onto the register.
FOI (Freedom of Information)
A request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Anyone can ask a public body for the information it holds; it must answer within 20 working days.
Freehold
Outright ownership of land, held for ever, as opposed to a lease for a fixed term.
G
Glamorgan Archives
The county record office for Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan, in Cardiff.
H
Heneb (formerly GGAT)
The Welsh archaeological trust that holds the Historic Environment Record for the area.
- Glamorgan-Gwent Archaeological Trust (GGAT) 1990
1990: GGAT’s archaeological assessment of Great House Farm, 1990 (cited in correspondence with Heneb) - GGAT02038s current
current: HER record number for Great House Farm (kept by Heneb) - Heneb (formerly GGAT) 2026
2026: Heneb’s own replies, 2026
HER (Historic Environment Record)
The local database of archaeological sites and historic buildings. Tŷ Mawr is HER GGAT02038s.
HM Land Registry
The land registry for England and Wales.
- HM Land Registry “about to register” notices 1960–1972 · EV-0231
1960–1972: London Gazette notices for Llandough land, 1960–1972 (EV-0231) - HM Land Registry (HMLR) 2026
2026: Letters of 23 Mar, 19 Apr and 30 Jul 2026 (ref N610CGV) - Independent Complaints Reviewer (ICR) 2026
2026: The Land Registry’s independent complaints reviewer (ICR/090/26)
I
ICO (Information Commissioner’s Office)
The UK regulator for Freedom of Information and data protection. A complaint goes to the ICO after a body’s internal review.
Internal review
A public body’s second look at its own FOI answer, asked for by the person who made the request. It is the step before a complaint to the ICO.
L
Leasehold / lease
Holding land for a fixed term from the freeholder, usually in return for rent. A ground rent is the rent paid on a long lease.
Licence (to occupy)
Written or spoken permission to occupy land. A licence is not ownership, and in law it stops time running for adverse possession.
Linklaters
BP’s solicitors on the 1982–83 first registrations.
- Linklaters & Paines 1983 · EV-0063
1983: HMLR WA240304 schedule item 11: “Form 1C application form from Linklaters & Paines” (EV-0063) - Linklaters 2026
2026: Present firm name (correspondence 2026)
Llandough Community Council
The community council for Llandough, the lowest tier of local government.
Llandough (near Penarth)
The parish and village beside Penarth and Cardiff where the farm stood. Not Llandough near Cowbridge.
- Landoche-juxta-Cardif date not stated on the Wiki
date not stated on the Wiki: Cardiff Records, manor of Llandough - Llandough [juxta-Penarth] c.1945–1955 · D/D XJF 64/30
c.1945–1955: Glamorgan Archives catalogue, D/D XJF 64/30 (EV-0155) - Urban District of Penarth 11 Jun 1965 · EV-0042
11 Jun 1965: 1965 conveyance: land “in the Urban District of Penarth in the County of Glamorgan” (EV-0042) - Llandough near Cardiff 16 Apr 1974 · GHF-E090-N03
16 Apr 1974: Daily Telegraph, 16 Apr 1974 (GHF-E090-N03) - Llandough-juxta-Penarth
The Wiki’s preferred historical locator - Llandough near Penarth
Modern descriptive locator - CF64 modern
modern: Postcode district (Church View Close, CF64 2NN) - Llandochau 2026
2026: Welsh name, used in RCAHMW’s search of its records (correspondence on the Wiki)
Local councils over time
The local authorities for Llandough over the years.
- Glamorgan County Council 24 Sep 1958 · EV-0036
24 Sep 1958: Western Mail legal notice, 24 Sep 1958 (EV-0036) - the former Glamorgan County Council 16 Apr 1974 · GHF-E090-N03
16 Apr 1974: Daily Telegraph, 16 Apr 1974 (GHF-E090-N03) - Llandough Community Council (formed 1982) 1982
1982: Woodland & Land-Transfer Assessment: “Llandough Community Council (formed 1982)” - Llandough Community Council 23 Feb 1990 · EV-0273
23 Feb 1990: Developer’s 1994 planting plan; South Wales Echo 23 Feb 1990 (EV-0273) - Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council c.1990s · EV-0133
c.1990s: Borough planning stamp on the developer’s location map (EV-0133) and older references - Vale of Glamorgan Council 2026
2026: Correspondence 2026 - Penarth Urban District Council 2026
2026: Glamorgan Archives reply: the area “was not covered by Cardiff Rural District Council but rather Penarth Urban District Council”
Loosemores → Hugh James
The family’s solicitors in the 1986–87 appeal, and the firm that later took them over.
- Loosemores 1987 · EV-0080
1987: Appellant’s solicitors, Court of Appeal 1987 (EV-0080) - Hugh James 3 Jul 2023
3 Jul 2023: Hugh James announced that Loosemores joined the firm on 3 July 2023
M
Manorial title / under a lord
A manorial title is the lordship of a manor and the rights that go with it. Land held “under a lord” was held from the lord of the manor, by lease or custom, rather than owned outright.
Ministry of Defence
The government department for the armed forces.
Ministry of Justice
The government department for the courts (through HMCTS), prisons and the justice system.
N
National Library of Wales
The national library in Aberystwyth. It holds the Bute estate records catalogue.
“Not held”
The answer a public body gives when it finds no recorded information matching a request.
NPCC
National Police Chiefs’ Council: coordinates police forces in the UK and answers FOI requests about national policing.
NPRN
National Primary Record Number: the reference in the National Monuments Record of Wales (Coflein). Tŷ Mawr is NPRN 20182.
P
Permissive occupancy
Living on or using land with the owner’s permission, for example under a licence or tenancy. Permission stops the clock for adverse possession.
Possession action
A court case in which an owner asks the court to order someone off land.
R
RCAHMW / Coflein
The Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales; Coflein is its online catalogue.
- NPRN 20182 current
current: RCAHMW site number for Great House Farm - Coflein current
current: RCAHMW’s online database - RCAHMW (ref RC26-0375) 13 Oct 2026
13 Oct 2026: RCAHMW reply, 13 Oct 2026
Registered proprietor
The person or company named on HM Land Registry’s title register as the owner of a piece of land.
S
s.1(3) clarification
Under section 1(3) of the FOI Act a body may ask for more detail before answering. The 20-working-day clock starts again when the clarification arrives.
SAR (subject access request)
A request under UK data protection law for a copy of the personal data an organisation holds about you. The answer is due within one calendar month.
Section 12 (cost limit)
Section 12 of the FOI Act lets a body refuse a request that would cost more than the set limit to answer.
South Wales Police
The police force for South Wales, including the Vale of Glamorgan.
T
The National Archives
The UK national archive.
- Historical Manuscripts Commission 1959
1959: TNA email: manorial records “passed to the custody of the Historical Manuscripts Commission in 1959” - Public Record Office (PRO) 2003
2003: TNA email: the HMC “amalgamated with the Public Record Office to form The National Archives in 2003” - The National Archives (TNA) 2003
2003: Same email
Title number
The reference HM Land Registry gives each registered title, such as WA231076.
Title register
HM Land Registry’s official record of a piece of registered land: who owns it, its title plan, and any charges or rights over it.
Tŷ Mawr / Great House
Tŷ Mawr (“Great House”): the former manorial house at Llandough near Penarth, demolished in December 1988. First named in the 1824 David Stewart survey of the Bute estates as “Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm”; the wider estate is known as Cedwyn.
- Tŷ Mawr
Welsh for “Great House”: the name Cedwyn uses for the former manorial house at Llandough. - Cedfin 1824 · EV-0211
Spelling in the 1824 David Stewart survey (plan 19: “Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm”); alias of Tŷ Mawr / Great House. - Ty Mawr Farm 1824 · EV-0211
Same 1824 survey entry, and HM Land Registry’s wording in its letter of 23 Mar 2026. - Cydfin
Bute estate catalogue wording (“Cydfin Farm or Ty Mawr Farm”), undated; also in the place name Cwm Cydfin Wood. - Cedwyn
The name this site uses for the wider historic estate around Tŷ Mawr; the record spellings are Cedfin (1824) and Cydfin. - Great house 1868–1901 · EV-0225
Trade-directory wording, 1868–1901: “Williams John, Great house”. - Greathouse 1880 · EV-0225
Slater’s directory spelling, 1880. - Llandough Home Farm 3 Apr 1881 · EV-0224
Name in the 1881 census (RG11/5288, schedule 9). - Ty-mawr c.1890s–1900s · EV-0228
Ordnance Survey 25-inch map spelling, north-west of the church. - Great House Farm c.1945–1955 · EV-0155
The English farm name, in Glamorgan Archives D/D XJF 64/30 and in the Historic Environment Record (GGAT02038s). - Ty Mawr 20 Nov 1958 · EV-0037
Newspaper spelling without the circumflex: “Ty Mawr, Penarth Road, Llandough” (Western Mail, 20 Nov 1958). - Ty Mawr (Great House) 16 Apr 1974 · GHF-E090-N03
Both names side by side, Daily Telegraph, 16 Apr 1974. - Great House 16 Apr 1974 · GHF-E090-N03
English translation of Tŷ Mawr, printed beside it in the Daily Telegraph, 16 Apr 1974.
V
Vale of Glamorgan Council
The local council for Llandough, Penarth and the Vale; the planning authority since 1996.
Village green (VG41)
Land registered as a town or village green. VG41 is the green at Church View Close, Llandough.
W
Welsh Office → Welsh Government (and Cadw)
The Welsh central government department over the period, and Cadw, its historic environment service.
- Welsh Office 1985–1992 · EV-0201
1985–1992: Cadw officers’ 1988 inspection; Welsh Office stopping-up order, Old Barry Road, Llandough, 1992; Welsh Office Circular 1/85 (EV-0201) - Wales Office / former Welsh Office 22 Sep 2026
22 Sep 2026: 26FOI 103 reply, 22 Sep 2026 (Missing Records Register) - Welsh Government 19 Oct 2026 · EV-0244
19 Oct 2026: ATISN 26-0010 disclosure response, 19 Oct 2026 (EV-0244)
Western Ground Rents
The company that bought the Bute (Mountjoy) Cardiff ground rents in 1938 and later passed into the BP pension group.
- Western Ground Rents 24 Dec 1938 · EV-0022
24 Dec 1938: Press reports of the Bute (Mountjoy) sale completion, Western Mail 24 Dec 1938 p.8 (EV-0022) - Western Ground Rents Ltd 11 Jun 1965 · EV-0042
11 Jun 1965: 1965 conveyance of the Llandough school site (EV-0042) - WESTERN GROUND RENTS LIMITED 3 Jul 1996 · EV-0249
3 Jul 1996: London Gazette, 3 Jul 1996, issue 54455 p.8982 (BP group members’ liquidation; EV-0249) - WGR
Abbreviation used on the Wiki